The Best (and Worst) of 2012

My first partial year of blogging is coming to an end, and although its been a while since I have had the time to myself to get my blogging on, I can’t help but look at the improvements in my home and life with happiness (and a little pride).

Check out some of the way that Derek and I have been incredibly blessed this year.  Here is a look back, month by month, of the amazing changes.

December 2011: I was happy to graduate from college and start a new job at Hyatt.  Derek and I found the perfect new home for us after only looking at 5 houses.

January:  Derek and I closed on our new, old house.  We moved in on a pleasantly sunny day–unlike the last two times we moved, which were under blizzard conditions!

Before

February: Our heating system broke…and it took the entire month to get it fixed.  Yay for cuddling, blankets, and hot showers!  40 degrees in the house, snow on the ground!

photo.JPG

We also took advantage of the lack of moving air by painting our cabinets and counter-tops, as well as replacing the lighting, faucet, and adding a disposal.

DSC00339

March: Derek came home with the bad news that there were going to be extensive layoffs at work.  As the last hired, he was the very likely to lose his job…if you want to hear the end of that story, fast forward to June.  🙂

June: I kickstarted the blog with an homage to Derek’s birthday and the awesome cake I made all by myself! Of course, that was after forgetting to add water on the first try and creating a paste instead. 🙂

IMG_1940

Right about that time, Derek got called into the bosses office for a solemn meeting…his job was being dissolved, but they wanted to promote him and add responsibilities to his plate instead of letting him go!!!  Yay yay yay! (I can’t say that enough.)

Oh yes, and it was no small feat that we finished re-doing the stairs this month.

IMG_0749

I also had the pleasure of being in my friend Sarah’s lovely DIY wedding.  Yay for married happiness!

IMG_1050

July: This month saw the introduction of a new camera into my life, allowing me new enjoyment and freedom in blogland.

DSC00059 So lovely!

I also celebrated my 23rd birthday, bringing my new miter saw into my life.  (There are still many projects to go on the miter-saw front.)

August: August marked my most productive month as a blogger.  I started (and finished!) so many projects, and I had the best shopping luck.  Remember the entertainment center turned dining room shelving, anyone?

DSC00896

September:This was the month of my weight-loss: 20 lbs in just one month. Go South Beach, go me!

This was also a great month for fall temperatures, the new fire-pit, a gorgeous front porch, and a plethora of clutter purging!

IMG_1309

DSC01263

October: This month offered plenty of opportunities for craft and diy with another friend wedding on the horizon.

My friend Jessica married at a lovely home and botanical garden in Paris, KY.

DSC01437

November: We were happy to welcome my mom to the neighborhood in Lexington after she was able to sell my childhood home in Franklin, TN.  She was also blessed to marry a wonderful man named Mark.

I also got a very welcome job offer at the University of Kentucky–something I’ve been wanting for quite some time. 🙂

December 2012: The year is closing out with the beginnings of a new job, finally meeting my hubby’s family at yet another wedding, and celebrating the holidays with my family.  My mom’s house is looking much more cozy, and so is mine.

Derek and I, along with two of our best friends, enjoyed an amazing week cruising to Mexico, followed by a relaxing (but eventful) stay in New Orleans.

All in all, I would say that the year was eventful, but an overall success.  Oh, and, tomorrow marks two amazing years of marriage to the best man in the entire world…that’s right the entire world (which didn’t end, by the way).  Thank you Derek for loving me and supporting me; you are my best friend.  Happy New Years and Happy Anniversary!

Cheers to you and yours!

One response

  1. Thank you, Jenni, Derek, and company of friends for helping us move! It was not an easy task, but much less stressful with help!

    I am also so very proud of you both and your accomplishments! Happy Anniversary and Happy New Year!

Leave a comment