Painting My Dishwasher

When we moved into our house in January, I knew that the fridge was too new to go, even though it was white.  I knew that the stove was gross and broken and had to go.   What I didn’t know was that the dishwasher was just ugly, not broken or ineffective.  I wanted to boot it at the get-go, but I just never ran into the right deal; luckily, before I had a chance to find a new one, I got to use the old one.  And it works great!

The original “biscuit” dishwasher color

So, the new plan was either to live with the ugly biscuit color until it broke, or to find another solution to hide it…so I researched all the people out there painting appliances and decided to give it a whirl.

And, then, I got lucky.  I found a roll of Stainless Steel Contact Paper at the Peddler’s Mall for $1.50.  I haven’t seen this stuff in years; I had wanted to use it, but I didn’t think I would ever find it.  And here it was, never unwrapped, and almost free.

So, out came the paint and the paper.  I used a Rustoleum high-endurance enamel paint from Lowes.

I started by cleaning the whole front with an abrasive sponge and my favorite degreaser, Mean Green.  I then made sure that all the cracks and crevices were clear of any debris.  I taped off the area around the buttons, and pre-painted all those same cracks and taped edges.  Then I painted the rest of the top and bottom sections using light brushstrokes–it’s important not to push too hard or go over the same spot so many times, as it makes the paint streaky.

Taping off the buttons.  Sorry for the bad quality.

My favorite part came when we added the contact paper.  We cut two sheets the same length to cover the front and the two sides.  The pieces fit together nicely with the metal grain on the paper as a guide.  (It was oddly metallic on both sides.)  The seam is barely visible.

My friend Kelly held the bottom of the paper to keep it from sticking while I used a credit card to smooth the wrinkles and bubbles out as I pressed it to the surface of the machine.  I used an Exacto knife to cut the excess from the sides, using a crease in the door as a guide.  We then removed any bubbles by poking tiny holes in them and then smoothing out the air with our fingers.

Laying down the stainless steel

Popping bubbles!

Two pieces was enough to cover the whole front. I removed the tape from the buttons before as we finished with the paper, since I didn’t want it to dry and possibly peel off.  I then rounded the corners on the panel by hand.

Unrounded corners on the button panels

And 24 hours later…I have a “stainless steel” look.  All for less than $6!!!!

The “biscuit” before

Beautiful after!

Please check out the Under 100 Linky party over at Beyond the Picket Fence!

http://bec4-beyondthepicketfence.blogspot.com/2012/08/under-100-linky-party_15.html

DIY Show Off

Supporting Habitat for Humanity

http://diyshowoff.com/category/other/diy-project-parade/

6 responses

  1. That looks soooooo great! Amazing really! If i ever see that contact paper I will snatch it up and use it on my dishwasher. Thanks for a great idea!

  2. I’m amazed. The kitchen is just terrific anyway. I love the way you worked with the counter color and went with a very up to date scheme. You did a terrific job with the dishwasher. I’d never guess that it wasn’t a stainless!

    • The bubbles came out well, it just took a lot of patience to get rid of them all. I am amazed at how well the paint and contact paper have held up, especially with all the steam that comes out of the vent each time I do a load of dishes! I am only the slightest bit unhappy with the way that the button panel looks. I know there has to be a better way to give them a professional finish.

Leave a comment